Afternoon Tea Anonymous – Bunty’s Tea Room

Hi, my name is Bex (“Hiiiii Bex”) and I am here today because I’m addicted to afternoon tea.

Could I get anymore British if I tried? But the proof is in the pudding, I really do love me an afternoon tea trip. Scones, finger sandwiches, macaroons, mini tarts, mousse, cupcakes, and lots and lots of tea. I love it all. And as my mum is also a fellow addict and we tend to go to as many different places as possible when we fancy one. I wanted to start a series on my blog reviewing all the places I’ve been to, to hopefully find the best afternoon tea in the world.

My first instalment is about Bunty’s Tea Room in Lincoln. I have eaten here too many times already, which shows its truly a favourite. It is a very old school, tradition tea room, with dainty, miss-matched china, freshly made scones and the place is filled with trinkets and delicate detailing. The waiters and waitresses wear traditional pinafores and bandanas in their hair, which gives the place a post war 1920s vibe which I absolutely love.

The tea is to die for, I’m not sure what brand it is but its strong, flavoursome and refreshing – and I drink it excessively…The scones made at Bunty’s are by far the best scones I have ever tried. They are freshly baked everyday, served warm, soft to the touch and generous in size. The sandwiches are handmade to order and use fresh ingredients and are simply delicious. And don’t even get me start on the cakes… They make them fresh everyday and always have new and unique flavours, my personal favourite being the Banana cake.

An afternoon tea for 2 is £12.50 each, which is one of the most reasonable prices I have come across for afternoon tea, especially as the quality is so high. Some places will charge upwards of £25 each for an average selection. It includes a sandwich each (of your choice), a scone each (plain or fruit), a huge slice of cake each (of your choice) and of course a huge pot of tea.

If you live in or around Lincoln, or visit the city anytime in the future, I couldn’t recommend Bunty’s more. It encapsualates everything that a proper, traditional tea room should provide, and their prices are extremely reasonable.

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 16.03.25Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 16.03.15Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 16.03.01

Where is your favourite place to have afternoon tea?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Afternoon tea is the best thing x

    Like

Leave a Reply

