My First Tattoo Experience

I’ve always wanted a tattoo but, like most people, struggled to choose what I wanted. I always felt like your first tattoo should mean something to you, regardless of how significant the meaning is, that is personal to you. I dug through Pinterest for hours searching for that ‘perfect’ tattoo idea, and eventually found a seed for an idea.

bow

This was the picture I found, and it was named ‘friendship knot’. I loved the idea of a matching tattoo, and something that signifies a relationship, and the first person that popped into my head was my mum – she had wanted a tattoo for a while too and wanted it to mean something special. Me and my mum have an extremely close relationship, she is my best friend first, then my mum. A lot of my friends find it unusual how much we share and how close we are, but I think I’m extremely lucky. This tattoo would signify our relationship and would be a constant reminder of how lucky we are.

So we booked in straight away. We booked to get it done on the day before I moved out to university, which was perfect timing and made it mean even more. On the day, our tattooist cancelled because she was ill, but we were determined to get it done on that day. We had recommendations for a place in Leigh-On-Sea called The Interbellum Tattoo Parlour, so we called them and they had availability that same day!

His design was different to what we imagined. It was bigger and more detailed but we absolutely loved it as it was unique and beautiful. We got in on our wrists and I went for a black and white tattoo and my mum got purple shading, so we both had our own spin on it.

 

Pain wise…I’m going to be honest, it hurt A LOT. The placement we chose is known for being one of the most painful parts of the body to tattoo. I described it as someone sticking a pin into your skin and dragging it around – which is effectively what’s happening. But luckily it only took 20 minutes, so the pain was short lived. Don’t let the pain stop you from getting it! It’s bearable and stops as soon as they take the needle off your skin.

Considering it was so last minute, our artist managed to draw up a sketch, transfer it and tattoo us both in under two hours which was wonderful. They cost £40 each.

It scabbed over after about a week or so and it only took about 3 weeks to fully heel. I couldn’t be happier with it!

IMG_3172.JPG

 

Do you have any tattoos? What was your experience like?

Leave a Reply

