A Book Review – Uglies by Scott Westerfield

This summer I had the pleasure of going on a week long, do nothing holiday to Gran Canaria. Nothing but sunbathing, swimming, eating ice cream, and more sunbathing. But whislt lying there relaxing, unlike me, I took along a book to dive into. I chose this book, “Uglies”, upon reccomendation from many of my friends. I tend to find great interest in dystopian ideas and stories, so this book was perfect to kick start by book worm habits (hopefully).

The essense of the story is about an alternative, fictional society where, when you turn 16 years old, you undergo an extreme operation which makes you a “pretty”, before this are you considered an “ugly”. Life as an ugly is a basic life, living away from your already “pretty” parents, in a dorm of other “uglies”. Life as a “pretty” consisted of non stop partying, no work and no worries. This is a very interesting subject, which caused me to think “what if?” everyother page. In our society today, image is such an overpowering worry, such a dominating subject effecting many aspects of our lives’. Would we all be happy and peaceful if we were all “pretty”? With a perfect bone structure and body weight? But how can we even answer this question when perfect is impossible to define? The book is clever, thought-proking and brings up some sensitive subjects testing our friendship, trust and decision making.

Despite not being a regular book reader, I found the book easy to read, but not in a childish way. The fast pace of the story kept me eager to turn each page. I even got sunburned from losing track of time when reading! I think that is a sign of an gripping read.

“Uglies” is part of a 3 book series and I have already ordered the next two, “Pretties” and “Specials”. I highly reccomend this book, especially if you are a lover of dystopia like myself. If you read it, let me know what you think and leave me some book reccomendations in the comments below.

Happy reading!

“What you do, the way you think, makes you beautiful.”

Leave a Reply

